Nevermind Watchdown: S7E6, or I’ll know it when you say it

Onto another one, this one featuring Mark “I stay for the first few seasons and then leave” Steel, who was apparently funny.

Richie Neville is YET ANOTHER member of 5ive. Pete Shelley sang lead with the Buzzcocks. Josie D’Arby was a youthful presenter of Top of the Pops.

Mark, to Phill: “When he was on ‘Buzzcocks, did you have to call him Lemmy?”
Phill: “Yeah, Lemmy, or Sir. Mein Fuhrer was also great.”

Sean, on Anything but the Girl: “Were they named after Michael Jackson’s sexual preferences?”

Already, Richie seems a little bit more civilized and cultured than the last member of 5ive that was on this show, and I like this.

One of Phill’s Intros is ‘I’m in the Mood for Dancing’, by the Nolans. Reminds me of the episode where they made Athelston go in the ID Parade, passing him off as a Nolan.

For the third intro, which is Ever Fallen in Love, Phill and Richie go for an illegal hint, Mark still can’t get it, and eventually gets it after Mark’s given it away, Pete gives an even worse rendition than Phill and Richie (and he WROTE the bloody thing), and Josie gives an out-of-place hand move.
Mark: “I am not gonna give anyone any points for that, because you’ve all angered me.”

Mark: “In 1991, all six Nolan sisters appeared in a Panto. The billing read “Nolan, Nolan, Nolan….Nolan, Nolan, Nolan…RAWHIDE!”

Mark, without too much context: “I’ve masturbated to Public Enemy, but…that was for a school project…”

Sean, on ID Parade: “#1 looks like a bouncer…”
Mark: “Why do you always wind up the HARDEST LOOKING BLOKE IN THE LINEUP! EVERY WEEK YOU DO THIS! Every week you go “oh, here’s this really hard looking bloke! I THINK HE’S UGLY!”

Josie: “I feel like 3 and 4 share a bond…like they’ve been through some stuff together.”
Mark: “It’s hardly Heart of Darkness, being the Dooley’s…”

Sean: “FOUR HAS NEVER, EVER, EVER IN A MILLION YEARS BEEN A DOOLEY!”
Josie: “Yes, but he’s definitely called ‘Alan’.”

Overall: Definitely a weaker episode, with only a few Josie moments and a couple of Mark Steel lines to save it. It’s not that people weren’t trying, because they were. It’s just that it wasn’t as funny as some of the other stuff this season.

Best Regular: Sean
Best Guest: Mark
Best Runner: Josie knowing it when he says it.

One thought on “Nevermind Watchdown: S7E6, or I’ll know it when you say it

  1. Mark Steel: My sort-of left-wing attitudes to music have all come crumbling, ‘cos, I know it’s a while ago, singing along to the Rage Against The Machine song, the one that goes, to paraphrase, “screw you, I won’t do what you tell me”, and I was shouting along to this, then I realise that I was doing it while I was doing the hoovering. So it doesn’t have quite the same impact, does it? Going, “fuck you I won’t do what you… Oh I’ve missed a bit behind the settee!”
    Mark Lamarr: I’ve masturbated to Public Enemy, but… that was for a school project.

Leave a Reply

