Nevermind Watchdown: S25E10, or Surely That’s what Come Together’s About…

Onto what’s probably gonna be a strange entry into Series 25- Cilla Black, famed performer and TV Presenter, is guest-hosting, and panelists include Mock the Week’s Tiff Stevenson, future Huey Morgan upsetters Rizzle Kicks, Holly Willoughby, who hasn’t been on since Series 17, and…and Angelos Epithemiou. So this is gonna be interesting, I think.

The cold open tradition returns with Phill and Noel recovering after a long night of partying with Cilla Black. The concerning part is that now these cold opens have laugh tracks. Ooooch.

For some reason, instead of Cilla reading the panelist intros, they have a cheesy announcer do it like it’s Blind Date.

On the Dexy’s Clip:
Tiff: “I know what year it is, but I think that’s Noel in the background playing a stick…”
Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 3.44.18 PM.png

Jordan: “I think I saw my auntie dancing in the background.”
Phill: “What year did she dance with Culture Club?”
Jordan: “…I think I just made that up for comedic value…”
Phill: “OKAY…”

Phill: “From what I’ve heard, I think Snoop would need a queue for exposing himself…”
Jordan: “What d’you mean?”
Phill: “….HIS ENORMOUS COCK!”
Cilla, as if she wasn’t expecting this ‘student behavior’: “…OH MY GOD!”

Phill: “The young man asked, I had to tell him-”
Jordan: “I DIDN’T…oh, yeah, I did.”

Cilla, after making a dick joke inspired by one of her songs: “…The things I have to do for money…”

Holly: “I will hold my hands up and say that back in the day I was a bit of a Peter Andre fan…”
Angelos: “Oh yeah? Me too…”

Noel asks Holly how exactly a vacation would evoke Peter Andre memories
Phill: “You have to understand, Holly, that anytime Noel goes on holiday, he has to have a volcano there so he can frolic with the orcs…”
Angelos, true to character: “Is that true? That seems EXTRAORDINARY…”

Holly: “I did actually kiss a local boy. His name was Evan Daniel Gonzalez Santana.”
Cilla: “That’s a mouthful.”
Phill, spanish accent: “I AM EVAN DANIEL GONZALEZ SANTANA….AND I HAVE COME TO AVENGE MY FATHER, HOLLY WILLOUGHBY.”

Holly: “He was actually the pool cleaner at the resort…”
Phill, spanish accent: “I ASSURE YOU…THE BAG ON THE END OF THIS LONG STICK IS FOR REMOVING LEAVES.”
Noel, somehow doing a Bela Lugosi impression: “Look, Holly, I pulled a moth from the pool!”

Holly: “I’m lucky I remember his name, to be honest…”
Angelos: “No, you’re not gonna forget a name like that.”
Phill: “You sure it wasn’t four blokes?”
Holly: “I’m very sure.”
Phill: “He’s probably watching this now going “AH, HOLLY WILLOUGHBY…”
Noel: “YOU KILLED MY FATHER!”
Phill: “I COULD HAVE BEEN YOURS, AND NOW I HAVE *TWO* POOLS!”
Noel: “Oh look, that moth just woke up…”

Holly: “Everybody knows that if you put anything, even hair, in the freezer, the chewing gum comes right off…”
Noel: “You’re not gonna put your head in the freezer…”
Phill: “WALT DISNEY DID!”

Pre-intros
Noel: “Have you ever seen this show on telly?”
Angelos: “NO. Why would you?”

Angelos can’t get the title of ‘Come Together’.An
Cilla: “Pass it over to the-”
Angelos: “No, don’t pass it to them. I’ll be here all night guessing, I’d rather do that!”

Noel: “Can you read?”
Angelos: “Yes.”
Noel shows him the card
Angelos: “…dunno what that says.”

Holly, trying to give a clue: “Lots of people in the same area, how did they get there?”
Angelos: “…THE BUS!”
Holly, still reaching: “When you’re…making love…”
PHILL’S ENTIRE PANEL LOSES IT

Cilla: “Did you know I was great friends with the Beatles?”
Holly: “Who was your favorite?”
[Angelos, in the background: “DUNG!”]
Cilla: “Well, I went through the lot of them actually…”
Phill, taking this the wrong way: “CILLA BLACK!”
Cilla: “NO. NO NO NO. LET ME CLARIFY-”
Noel: “Surely that’s what Come Together’s about…”

Angelos pulls a blind man’s stick out of his bag, just as a prop.
Noel: “I used to play that in Dexy’s Midnight Runners!”

Holly, trying to give Angelos a hint on the Take That one
Holly: “Picture the boys…”
Angelos: “I’m picturing them…”
Holly: “Who else is there?”
Angelos: “Uhhh…their manager?”

Cilla: “Phill and Rizzle Sticks- NO”
Phill is already gone. Thanks to a lot of the unintentional humor, this is a very high Jupitus giggling episode. Very similar to the Terry Wogan show, though Terry was a better host.

Tiff: “I think this was the song that was playing when Holly was having her pool boy romance…”
Holly: “WERE YOU THERE???”
Phill: “PLEASE, NOT NOW HOLLY, I CCHAVE TO CLEAR OUT THE DEEP END! A *CHILD* HAS LEFT SOMETHING IN DE POOL THAT NOBODY WANTS TO SEE!”

For the ID Parade, Noel’s team has to guess which one was the first ever Blind Date contestant to actually marry the guy she met on the show- it’s a nice Cilla-inspired twist.

Instead of Next Lines, there’s trivia questions about love and music…bending to the guest host again, which needs to stop being a thing.

One of the questions is which of Tommy Lee, Christopher Biggins and Frank Sinatra hasn’t released a sex tape.
Phill: “Sinatra.”
Tiff: “Ohh no, that means there’s a sex-tape of Biggins out there…”
Phill: “AUUUUUUGHHH, MY EYES!!!”

Overall: Flawed show, but had some nice moments. Not a great panel presence, and not a great guest host, but Phill and Noel kept giving really nice moments, Angelos and Tiff had a few good lines, and at least Cilla had some nice moments, even if she was a bit slow and wrong for the role.

Guest Host Rating: 6.5/10
Best Regular: Phill
Best Guest: Holly
Best Runner: Holly and the Pool Cleaner

One thought on “Nevermind Watchdown: S25E10, or Surely That’s what Come Together’s About…

Leave a Reply

