Whose Watchdown is it Anyway: S02E18, or Silly Rabbi

Onto our second consecutive Brad show, this one taking us back to the same taping as the middle-of-the-road E2. Hoping for our relatively-recent hot streak to keep going. This is also our first Whose Line of the 2000s.

Drew: “The winner gets to do a little something special with me, while the loser is tied down and forced to listen to ‘La Vida Loca’. OVER AND OVER AGAIN, just as if it was on the radio.”
Oh, 1999…

Superheroes: Mosquitos
Brad: Super Rabbi
Ryan: Deathly Afraid of Everything Man
Colin: Captain Cliche
Wayne: Uncoordinated Go-Go Girl

Brad, upon hearing his superhero name, gives a ‘WHAT’ into Camera 1.

Brad, swatting mosquitoes: “Ishmael! David! Ouch!”

Brad: “There are too many mosquitoes! I will not be able to watch ‘Torah Torah Torah’ tonight!”
HA
Brad: “…and I am late for my bris!”

Ryan: “Sorry I’m late, someone cut me off- I MEAN IN TRAFFIC…”
Okay, the jokes are just all hitting, or maybe it’s because I have enough jewish relatives..

I kinda love Brad setting up the world of the scene by establishing a screen door to protect from mosquitoes…only for Colin to burst through it.

Colin: “A mosquito who sucks is one who chews…”
Brad: “You can say that again, bless my mazuzah”
Ryan: ‘WHAT’S A MAZUZAH???”
Colin: “The grass is always greener!”
This scene is the right kind of goofy

Wayne, entering: “Sorry I’m la-”
Brad: “VATCH THE SCREEEEN!”

Colin, after Wayne falls over: “Look before you leap!”

Brad, after Wayne falls directly offstage: “And to think, I once did his bar-mitzvah!”
Colin: “Silly Rabbi!”
HAHAHAHAHAHA. PERFECT
Ryan curls so far inward to keep from laughing. Poor guy

Great Superheroes scene. So much silliness all around. Brad was a great anchor here, too.

Film & Theater Styles: Colin comes out of his house to find that Ryan, a truck driver, is dumping nuclear waste in his backyard

Ryan’s idea of ‘dumping nuclear waste’:
Screen Shot 2019-08-25 at 4.54.34 PM.png

Soap Opera
Colin: “Course, you know, now I can never have children.”

The nervous moving around in Student Film reminds me of whenever they’d have to do Amateur Dramatics in the UK version

I love the whole Animal Planet suggestion- Colin doing a playful bit to camera, and Ryan eventually turning into Steve Irwin and going after it. This ends with Colin killing the gopher Ryan just caught. Wayne loves this.

This is our first opportunity to find out how little Ryan and Colin know about South Park- Colin knows it involves bad animation and cursing; Ryan knows it involves repeated projectile vomiting. As we’ll find out later, this is about all they know.

Not a great F&TS. Good in small moments, but not a very cohesive scene, especially compared to previous playings of this.

Song Titles: In Las Vegas

Wayne: “Money Money Money”
Brad: “Money can’t buy everything.”
Wayne, looking around: “HELLO?”

Brad: “Mr. Roberts!”
Ryan, confused: “…I’m Henry VIII, I am…”

Drew buzzes Wayne out for ‘I come from a land down under’, but doesn’t buzz Brad out for ‘I’ve been through the desert on a horse with no name.” Both are lyrics.

Colin, entering: “What’s new Pussycat?”
Ryan: “Rain.”
Colin: “It’s Raining Men!”
Ryan angrily can’t think of one after this

Solid round, but a bit uneven.

An important first: Drew makes his first jab at Ryan’s shoes
“The points are like…tasteful shoes to Ryan Stiles”
They cut to Ryan’s shoes, which are white with black flames, nowhere near as loud as they would be in later years
Drew: “I’m sorry, was that applause, I couldn’t hear it OVER RYAN’S SHOES!”

Sound Effects: Colin is an ice hockey star arriving at the stadium for the big game

A solid opening gag, where Colin puts on his entire outfit, with knee pads and armor and everything…only to take it off, put everything down, run off and pee. That is classic Whose Line.

I kind of love how swiftly and confidently Colin moves about the rink in this. The audience even applauds a little

I also love his confidence that he’s so good at this game that he literally plays with one hand, absentmindedly throwing the puck into the goal from halfcourt, and just raising an arm in triumph. So…he’s Sidney Crosby. Fascinating.

And of course, Colin gets into a silly little puck fight, punctuated by a well-placed ‘AGH’ from Ryan that gets Wayne laughing

Even funnier, after Colin beats the guy up, Ryan says over the intercom that Colin’s gotten a penalty, and gets the ref to come at him. So Colin plunks him. Same logic from the Titanic scene- something’s wrong? Beat him up too.

A pretty nice SFX. Not one of my faves, but this had some good moments. It also helped that they got a Canadian to play a hockey player.

Telethon: Sitcom Stars

This underrated game returns for its third and…last for a while at least, playing.

Ryan: “Hello, and welcome to our first hour-”
Colin, under him: “Oh, I’m BUSHED!”

Ryan: “250 Million? Is that the BEST we can do?”
Colin: “That’ll barely cover the hair mousse for the set of Friends.”

Ryan: “You’ll hear a lot of rumors about a lot of stars, how much money they make. Drew Carey, for instance. A lot of people think he made 45 million dollars last year. After he pays taxes, he’s lucky if he clears 30 million, ladies and gentlemen. A MAN HAS TO EAT.”
Drew reacts well to this one.

Colin: “THESE people have to do INTERVIEWS. They have to ENDORSE THINGS THEY DON’T EVEN USE.”

Ryan: “Right now, we have some very special guests that have come all the way from Laughlin, Nevada today…”
Wayne cracks at this

This time, Colin and Ryan will be telling them which impressions to do, which is an odd hook. Brad and Wayne start as Bruce and Stevie, their standbys.

There’s some great lyrics from both of them here, with Wayne name-dropping Leave it to Beaver, and Brad name-dropping the principles from Happy Days.

Wayne, as Louie Armstrong: “It don’t mean you’re rich if [TURNS TO DREW] you got TWO SHOWS.”
Drew shakes his head at this.

After Ryan and Colin have called out impressions they know the other two can do, Colin throws Wayne for a loop: “LT. UHURA FROM STAR TREK!”
Drew and Ryan crack at this. As does Brad in the back
Wayne, turning from a desk: “Captain. They need your help.”

And Ryan brings Brad right into his Fred Schneider impression, as you knew it was coming.

Wayne ends as Cosby. There’s a ‘like…MeEeEe..’ that makes Brad wince into laughing from the background.

Wayne ends as Brad does a Clarence Clemons sax solo behind him and Ryan and Colin dance in the background.

I’ve always loved this playing, and would put it against the NBA players one as one of the best. Not quite sure which one’s better, but…the random factor of some of the guys Colin made Wayne sing as made me laugh. So it might be this one.

Three-Headed Broadway Star: Wayne, Ryan & Drew sing ‘These Aren’t My Hips’ from the musical Stretchmarks.

Drew’s randomly sad uttering of ‘PREGNANT’ made me laugh

Not one of my favorite rounds of this, though all 3 gave their all.

Overall: An okay show with a few good games and a few forgettable ones, though I did like this one more than E2. Less structural problems, and more of just…another WL show. Brad and Colin gave me the show’s biggest highlights, and games like Telethon and Superheroes amused me enough to remember pieces of this one, but overall there wasn’t much to it.

Show Winners: Ryan and Wayne
Best Performer:  Brad again, honestly. Would have gone with Colin, but Brad’s stuff, especially in Superheroes and Song Titles, stood out more.
Worst Performer: Ryan. Just didn’t see a lot of his best stuff tonight.
Best Game: Telethon, easily
Worst Game: Three Headed Broadway Star. Very meh.

COMING UP NEXT: There’s been an alarming habit of bad Greg Proops shows, and I say we head that off right now. So here’s one from a Greg Proops taping that may have been a pretty successful one.

3 thoughts on “Whose Watchdown is it Anyway: S02E18, or Silly Rabbi

  1. This was the last broadcast playing of Telethon. Wayne identifies Brad as Kenny G during his “sax” part, but it sounds more like Clarence Clemons than Kenny G.

    Drew doesn’t seem to be all that knowledgeable about Song Titles to make as many mistakes as he did in judging what’s a lyric, band or title.

    Next up…
    Ryan & Colin: “I SEE PARIS, I SEE FRANCE, I SEE SOMEONE’S UNDERPANTS!”

  2. Solid “B” episode. Nothing outrageously hilarious but still had a good amount of laughs.

    Superheroes: Deathly Afraid of Everything Man and Captain Cliche were the highlights.

    F,TV&TS: I did like Ryan’s line about how, before all his crops die, they’re gonna grow like crazy. And Ryan bringing Steve Irwin into the Animal Planet style was a “aaaaaand mark” moment. But the South Park style was better in 2×21, since Ryan did more vomits in short order.

    Song Titles: Eh. I feel like a lot of the titles in this one were ones the performers used quite a bit. Was okay but I’m not a big fan of this game to begin with. I did like Ryan’s “Disco… DUCK!” though, as well as Wayne’s “I, my, me, mah, mo mo…” [buzz]

    Sound Effects: Strangely enough, the stuff before the actual hockey game was funnier; once Colin got on the ice it wasn’t as good. Except for hitting the ref, that was enjoyable.

    Telethon: They didn’t play this game enough! “I love Lucy; won’t YOU love Lucy, too?” Brad’s Fred Schneider was my favorite of the celebrity impressions.

    THBS: I love Ryan’s comment to Wayne after the game: “We got into some of the LONGEST lyrics…” Indeed: “Twice, nightly, used, to, be, the, number, of, times, I, made, love, Now, I, am, barren, and, my, husband, doesn’t, love, me!” – that IS a pretty long sentence.

    Credits reading is also pretty funny, with the football coaches/players.

    Other comments:

    “Drew: “The winner gets to do a little something special with me, while the loser is tied down and forced to listen to ‘La Vida Loca’. OVER AND OVER AGAIN, just as if it was on the radio.”
    Oh, 1999…”

    Hey, I remember that period well. Not like it was exclusive to that song, though- you get a hit song and they just milk it until it’s dry, it’s as old as the radio itself.

    “An important first: Drew makes his first jab at Ryan’s shoes
    “The points are like…tasteful shoes to Ryan Stiles”
    They cut to Ryan’s shoes, which are white with black flames, nowhere near as loud as they would be in later years
    Drew: “I’m sorry, was that applause, I couldn’t hear it OVER RYAN’S SHOES!””

    I was just about to point that out myself- so this WAS the first Ryan’s shoes joke in the series? Pretty significant.

Leave a comment