Whose Watchdown is it Anyway: S08E04, or I Said COOKIE.

Another S1 taping. Don’t get excited all at once

This one features Greg Proops, who we haven’t seen since 7×18, for an episode cut from the same taping as the very alright 1×15.

Let’s Make a Date: Greg must choose from Wayne, a hip-hop DJ, Colin, an 80 year old who’s taken too much aphrodisiac, and Ryan, a drill sergeant

Colin’s so good with this one that he can just crack me up without saying a word:
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.13.04 PM

Greg: “I’m not one of those people who think age matters. Do you?”
Colin: “NNNOOO…”
Dear god

Ryan: “I PREFER QUIET PLACES MYSELF.”

Greg: “#2-”
Colin:
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.15.58 PM
Dear god

Colin: “I haven’t felt this…revved up since the big one.”
Greg: “…what was the big one?”
Colin: “…you’ll see…”

Greg, worriedly: “I’m…quivering with anticipation”

Ryan: “ONLY TWO GOOD THINGS EVER CAME OUT OF OHIO. STADIUM MUSTARD AND DREW CAREY, MY FRIEND.”

Greg, guessing: “#2 is something I hope to be in 20 years time…the randiest old man that ever lived”
Well, 20 years later Greg’s high off his ass and shilling for politicians who hate poor people, so close enough

A solid round. Nothing too special, but that Colin performance is one for the books.

Fashion Models: Greg comments on Wayne, Colin and Ryan premiering fashion trends for the Race Car Driver

I’m not pointing out specific lines for Ryan’s, because it’s fairly standard, but Greg has more of an emphasis on  grounding the profession to the style than making puns

Colin’s priorities are in the right place:
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.24.01 PM

Greg: “And you’ll say ‘hey’ when this mechanic changes your sparkplugs”

Greg, on Wayne: “There goes the yellow flag, but you won’t slow down when you see THIS studbucket waving you home..”

A pretty strong round of this. Maybe not as funny as it could be, but the goal of the game was reached.

Props: Ryan and Colin vs.  Greg and Wayne

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.27.25 PMGreg: “Yeah, you’re here for the Earth, Wind and Fire audition?”
Wayne: “Right on.”

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.28.33 PMColin: “i’ll be glad when the baby’s on a bottle.”
RYAN LOSES IT HERE

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.29.34 PMRyan: “…that trout’s sticking its tongue out at us”
Colin: “I know!”

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.30.27 PMGreg, muffled as hell: “COOKIE. I SAID *COOKIE*.”
This always cracked me up as a kid. And it definitely gets Wayne

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.31.27 PMColin: “CAPTAIN I SEE LAAAAND…”
Ryan is dying most of this Props. And I don’t blame him, there are so many good, new original suggestions in this one

AN INSANELY STRONG  ROUND OF PROPS. Should have been in the S1 show.

Scene to Rap: Zombies

Wayne actually has a really strong verse to establish character and setting, and it’s funny. So…score one for this terrible game.

Greg ends up being a zombie, and Ryan enters: “let me speak his language, I’m Canadian”

Wayne: “My boyfriend was a zombie, but I’ve been saved by a big Canuck”

Colin comes in as the ‘king of the zombie men’…then collapses into gibberish verses and dances. It’s an insanely amusing, very funny move that saves this game from being too thoughtful

An alright Scene to Rap. It was stupid, but knowingly so.

Party Quirks: Greg hosts
Wayne – Daredevil motorcycle stunt rider
Colin – Evolving from primeval ooze to man
Ryan – Rocky in 30 seconds

I love how casual Wayne is with setting up his stunt, just lighting something on fire and piping in music, getting a lion and just casually going ‘sit’

Ryan, Burgess Meredith: ‘YOU AIN’T NOTHIN’ BUT A HOST, YOU’RE THE HOST OF THE PARTY AND NOTHIN  MORE”

Greg guesses Colin basically word for word, which Colin’s impressed by

Greg gets ’em all spot on in a record amount of time. A far cry from his marathon PQ games in the UK.

Not a bad game, but it could have been a bit more substantial

Hoedown: Midterms

When Drew asks what their ‘favorite game in the whole wide world’ is, a few audience members even join in yelling ‘HOEDOWWWNNN’. Drew remarks “THEY KNOW! They can smell it!”

Greg does a verse as a usual college douchebag, and has a nice punchline of “it doesn’t matter what my grades, I’m on the football team!”

Wayne: “Graduation should have been a time I celebrated
But I missed my midterms cause I was inebriated!”

Colin’s is a classic that a friend of mine loves to this day:
“I’m in the middle of midterms, from my study room I do not stir
Everything’s coming at me, THERE’S TOO MUCH  PRESSURE
I CAN’T TAKE IT…”
It’s not exactly ‘pulling a Colin’, but he collapses onto the floor in a fit of manic rage

Ryan’s is a good one too, as he talks about how he hopes he does well at midterms, “but I better hurry cause I’m turning 64.”

A good Hoedown. A tad unmemorable, but no bad verses.

Helping Hands: Ryan, hands by Colin, is going to propose to Drew, his girlfriend, during a romantic dinner together

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.48.49 PM[Brad, from one season over: “HEY, YOU LOOK LIKE ROSEANNE!”]

Ryan: “I love you more than any man has loved an unattractive woman like you.”
PFFF

Ryan: “Champagne, or as they say in French…”
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 6.50.36 PM
Ryan: “CHAMPAAAAAAHHHHHGNE!”

Ryan, after drinking out the bottle, gets some blowback. I don’t know why he never expects the alcohol on this show to be real.
Ryan: “OHOHOOOOO…THAT’S GOOD CHAMPAGNE.”

Colin randomly picks up a guitar and starts strumming randomly
Ryan: “…FROMAGE IS JUST ANOTHER NAME FOR CHEEEEESE…”
Wayne starts laughing in the back

Ryan  ends up shoving a dessert in both Drew’s and his mouth. Ryan tries saying something, but his mouth is still full. It’s a fun struggle. Drew, in response, feeds him some more

Ryan, his mouth still very full: “OHHMKAAYY, LEMMTH’S TAMMEHH PIMMTURRE”
PFFFFF
Ryan’s dying laughing. Wayne is pounding on the chairs in the back. Ryan tries saying something else but he can’t get the mousse down. So Colin offers his hand, and Ryan spits it out

Ryan, beaten down by the game, FINALLY gives Drew the ring. No line, no goof, just…handing it to her, completely beaten.

A VERY FUNNY Helping Hands. So many great moments. The whole chocolate debacle was worth it, especially for the reactions. Drew was actually a strong straight man here, too

Overall: An okay show with two solid supplementary games and a HELL OF A STRONG CLOSER. Most of tonight’s games were very meh, and I could see why they were left off the original show- LMAD, Party Quirks, Fashion Models and Scene to Rap weren’t much to write about. But Props was a strong one, Hoedown made me laugh, and Helping Hands was one of the funnier playings of it I’ve seen Drew do. It wasn’t a complete loss, but it could have been better.

Show Winner: Colin and Ryan
Best Performer: Colin had the biggest, goofiest moments tonight [I give you Scene to Rap]
Worst Performer: Wayne had the quietest night.
Best Game: Helping Hands. A highlight that should have made waves in S1.
Worst Game: Fashion Models wasn’t very funny
Should it Have Aired in S1?: Not really, but a few games didn’t deserve to be buried here.

COMING UP NEXT: We go back to the same S4 Kathy taping  that gave us two strong episodes last season, and see if there’s anything good left. There…sort of is?

One thought on “Whose Watchdown is it Anyway: S08E04, or I Said COOKIE.

  1. Great outtake from here of a bit of a back-and-forth between Greg and Drew (after Drew puts that blonde wig on)…

    Greg: I’m glad I’m behind this desk if you’re putting that wig on again.
    Drew: So am I, that’s where the cameras can’t see what I’m gonna do to you!
    Greg: [laughs]

Leave a comment